Skip to main content

Workforce Training & Continuing Education

Electrician License Renewal

Salt Lake Community College offers continuing education courses for electrician license renewal. These courses meet the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing (DOPL) requirements for the state of Utah. The DOPL requirements for electrician license renewal are a total of 16 hours of continuing education; 12 Core hours and 4 Professional hours.

Students are responsible for purchasing their textbook for classes occurring after July 1, 2018. Please see FAQ's for book information for the National Electrical Code class and Electrical Safety and Code Review class.

See a complete listing of DOPL approved courses.


Course CECT 0006
Title 2017 National Electrical Code

This course will cover over 400 new codes and definitions of the 2017 NEC Requirements for electrical installations. Major changes allowing new forms of alternate energy to power electric vehicles will be studied. Course meets DOPL requirements for 8 core hours for electricians.

Course CECT 0009
Title Electrical Safety & Code Review

Course covers new code changes, existing code, and common mistakes made on job sites. Learn how to prevent costly mistakes resulting in fines and penalties. New rules on lugs, terminals and GFCI placement in residential dwellings reviewed. Safety, personal protective equipment, OSHA rules, grounding rules and motor control diagrams covered. Must bring a 2017 codebook and a calculator to class. Course meets DOPL requirements for 4 core hours and 4 professional hours for electricians.

Course CEAE 0410
Title NEC 2014/2017 Solar Code Review

This eight-hour course will review the 2014 NEC code requirements still utilized in Utah and other states and the recently adopted 2017 NEC requirements that govern solar installations. Course meets DOPL's requirements for contractors (6 hours core) and electricians (8 hours core) and awards 6 NABCEP Continuing Education Units.
This course will be presented Fall 2018 ahead of the Nov. 30, 2018 re-license deadline.


Call 801-957-5200 to register.

A certificate will be mailed 3 - 6 weeks after completion of the course.

Cancellations must be made 3 days before class starts. Once class has started there will be no refunds.  If you wish to re-register, you will be required to pay the tuition again.

To drop a class, call 801-957-5200

Cost covers instruction, does not include textbooks.
Mike Holt’s Illustrated Guide to Changes to the National Electrical Code (textbook), 2017 NEC
Publisher: Mike Holt/2016/ISBN: 9781337101974
Mike Holt Enterprises | 888-632-2633
Discount Code: 214435
Illustrated Guide to the National Electrical Code, 7th Edition
  • ISBN 9781337515849

AUTHOR: Charles R. Miller

Publisher: Cengage Learning

Completion of the Continuing Education Courses at SLCC does not guarantee the ability to obtain a Utah state electrician’s license to practice as an electrician.  Licensure is the exclusive right and responsibility of each state.  In order to practice as an Electrician, students must satisfy individual state requirements, independent of SLCC requirements.  It is highly recommended that students consult in advance with the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL), or similar agencies in other states, to find out more about eligibility for licensure.  DOPL can be reached at 801-530-6628 or at their website.

For students who plan to work as an Electrician in another state, here is one suggested website for researching state licensure requirements: License Finder sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. If you have difficulty finding the licensure requirements for your state, please contact your Program Manager or SLCC’s state authorization coordinator for help.