Skip to main content
Close

Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs

SLCC GEAR UP

Contact Us

gear up logo


Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs

Services

  • Summer Field Trips and Academic Bootcamps
  • School Clubs and Connections
  • Leadership Opportunities
  • Academic Support
  • Test Preparation/Options
    • ACT
    • SAT
    • Accuplacer
  • College Preparedness
  • College Tours
  • Career Exploration
  • Financial Aid (FAFSA) Workshops
  • Scholarship Information & Applications
  • Support through First Year of College
  • Parent & Student Support/Workshops

Upcoming Events

Sept. 9 ACT for those already registered.
Sept. 22 Registration DEADLINE for the Oct. 28 ACT. REGISTER NOW.
Sept. 23 RMACAC College Fair at Juan Diego High School.
Sign up with your GEAR UP Advisor Today if you’d like to ride the GEAR UP bus.
Oct. 1 Apply for FINANCIL AID! Complete your FAFSA application.
Oct. 4 GEAR UP Student/Parent Orientation Dinner at SLCC 6 PM
Oct. 16 FREE ACT Bootcamp! Register with your GEAR UP Advisor Today!
Oct. 28 Take the ACT… Woot-Woot!!!
Nov. 3-4 Red Riot overnight trip to tour Southern Utah University, Cedar City, UT
Nov. 6-17 Kearns High School – College Application Week (see Cecilia Templeton)
Nov. 15 Kearns High School – College Knowledge & FAFSA Night (see Cecilia Templeton)
Dec. 1-2 DSU Preview overnight trip to tour Dixie State University, St. George, UT
Jan. 19-20 Diversity Snow Blast overnight trip to tour Snow College, Ephraim, UT

staff

Kevin Miller
Assistant Director
Diversity & Multicultural Affairs

(801)957-2122
Kevin.Miller@SLCC.edu
Joni Lindsay Joni Lindsay
SLCC GEAR UP Coordinator

(801)957-5168
Joni.Lindsay@SLCC.edu
Tasha Day Tasha Day
SLCC GEAR UP Data Specialist

(801)957-4111
Tasha.Day@SLCC.edu
Tohi Angilau
SLCC GEAR UP First Year College Advisor

(801)957-5124
Tohi.Angilau@SLCC.edu
cecilia Templeton Cecilia Templeton
SLCC GEAR UP Advisor

Kearns High School, 238B
(801)898-2672
Cecilia.Templeton@SLCC.edu 
gisselle castro Gisselle Castro
SLCC GEAR UP Advisor

Taylorsville High School, G111
(801)979-1174
Gisselle.Castro@SLCC.edu
Angela Aiono
>SLCC GEAR UP Senior Specialist

Taylorsville High School, G111
Angela.Hansen@SLCC.edu
whitney harris Whitney Harris
SLCC GEAR UP First Year College Advisor
Education & Community Specialist


(801)957-4064
Whitney.Harris@SLCC.edu