SLCC Google Apps

Managing a Google Group

Accessing Your Groups

You can access your Google Groups by visiting https://groups.google.com or by clicking the Groups link on the top bar when logged into your Google account. Once on the Groups page, click the My Groups button, which looks like the following:    

Google Groups My Groups icon

If you do not see your SLCC groups, make sure that you are logged into your BruinMail account and not a gmail.com account.

 

Sending a Message to Your Group

You do not need to log in to your Group's page to send a message - instead, you can simply send an email to the email address associated with your group (e.g., my-group-address@bruinmail.slcc.edu).

Group Settings

There are two important components within Google Groups: Group Behaviors and Group Membership. Both settings can be accessed and updated by Google Group Managers while logged into the Google Group.

Group Behaviors

By-Request Settings


  1. Whether your group emails are archived on the group page.  By default, they are not (the Google Group simply delivers emails to the recipients).  If you would like to save a copy of messages on the Group page, please request to change this setting.

  2. Who can be a member of your group. There are two choices: members of the BruinMail.SLCC.edu domain only, or anyone.  By default, only members of the bruinmail.slcc.edu domain can be added to your group. If you would like to include people outside of the BruinMail domain, you will need to request to change this setting.

Settings You Can Change

To modify the settings for your group, go into the group, then click the Manage button to the top right, next to  the gear.

manage groups icon
Then, in the left menu, open the Settings section and click the desired settings category:
preferences menu

Below are three popular settings.  To update these and view more options, visit the Group Settings link on the right of your Group's page.  

  1. Who can view members? By default, members can NOT see other members. Unless you have a specific reason for keeping this setting, you might want to allow members to see other members. This is helpful for many reasons - for example, a member can invite the group to a calendar event and view other members' free/busy time. If a members cannot see other members, calendar invitations sent by a member to the rest of the group will not allow RSVPs.
    To access this setting: Permissions > Access Permissions > View Members

  2. Who can join? You can restrict your group to invited members only, or allow people to request membership via the Group page.
    To access this setting: Settings > New Members > Join the Group

  3. Who can post? Do you want people outside your group to be able to reach you using your group's email address? If so, make sure "Anyone" is selected.  Otherwise, you have the option of restricting who can email your group to the BruinMail domain (organization members) or members of the group only.  If you want your group to be announcement-only, you can it up so only managers can email the group.
    To access this setting: Permissions > Basic Permissions > Post
group permissions
 
Here are Google's help pages describing the settings available:

Group Membership

To add members to your group, follow these steps:

  1. Go into the group, then click the Manage button to the top right, next to  the gear.

    manage groups icon

  2. On the left menu, go to Members > Direct add members.

    members menu
  3. Add the email addresses of the members you'd like to add to your group, separating each email address with a comma.

  4. You can choose to type in a welcome message, but it is not mandatory. It may be easier to simply email the group once it is created and tell them about the new email address.

  5. Select a default subscription setting for your group members under Email subscription options. They'll be able to change these settings later if they have a Google Account. In most cases, you want everyone to have the "All Email" setting, which means that each email sent to the group will appear in their inbox.

  6. Click “Add members”.

Managing Spam

When the group receives an email which Google identifies as spam, it will be  held for review by group managers.  Spam sent to your group will NOT be routed to recipients' spam folders.

The group manager(s) will receive an email with the subject line:

Moderator's spam report for [yourgroupaddress]@bruinmail.slcc.edu

This email will contain the original message for your review. If the message is in fact spam, you do not have to take action. However, if the message has been incorrectly identified as spam, and you want it to be distributed to your group, you can follow the link in the spam notification in order to approve and release the message.

Please note that the Group's spam filter is independent from the spam filters in each individual mailbox.  In other words, a moderator may release a message from the Group's spam filter, but after being sent to the individual members of the group, the message may still get caught by each of their spam filters if it contains content which indicates it might be spam.
You can change the way your spam is handled by going to Settings > Moderation > Spam messages.
group behaviors