Managing Resources

Resources (such as conference rooms) each have their own calendar in Google.  Someone within the department is assigned editing and sharing access to their resources calendars so they can control how - and by whom - the resource is booked.

Getting Started

First, you (assuming you are the owner of the resource) must be given access to the resource calendar.   This was originally done based on the ownership indicated in departmental spreadsheets during the migration.  When a resource is shared with you, you should receive an email with the subject line "Your Resource Name has shared a calendar with you". Once the calendar has been shared with you, it will appear under My Calendars on your calendar page.  Please DO NOT change the name of your resource calendar.

Managing Sharing

1. Click the arrow to the right of your resource calendar and choose Share This Calendar.

2. The top part of the "Share This Calendar" screen allows you to choose the overall permissions of your calendar.  In most cases, by default, everyone at SLCC can "See All Event Details" for your resource.  This means they are able to book the resource.  Remember that if this is set to "See only Free/Busy", only people you specify will be able to book the resource. 3. The bottom part of the "Share This Calendar" screen allows you to give specific people access to the resource calendar . You can choose the level of access.  After you add people to the list, remember to click Save to save your changes.   There are four levels of permission you can grant to your resource calendar, as outlined below:

Resource (e.g. Conference Room) Calendar Settings

See Only Free/Busy (hide event details)

Can not book the resource. Can only view whether or not the resource is available.