School of Health Sciences


The Six Pillars of a Community College

At Salt Lake Community College, we know that the well-being of any community depends on the success of those who live, work and learn within it. For nearly 60 years, we’ve strived to enrich communities across the Wasatch Front by providing a broad range of market-driven, educational opportunities.

From general education, transfer programs, and career and technical education, to on-the-job training, re-training, and apprenticeships, continuing education, entrepreneurial support, and much more – we’re building tomorrow’s workforce and strengthening Utah’s economy every day.

But our long-term success hasn’t happened by chance. It’s built on a proven structure that integrates six important educational components – what we’d like to call “The Six Pillars of a Community College:

  • Developmental Education
  • Career and Technical Education
  • General Education and Transfer Programs
  • Adult and Community Education
  • Community Services Education
  • Business and Economic Development

Individually, each of these pillars play a critical role in educating students. Working together,they provide an educational powerhouse for continued economic growth that helps ensure the success of our students and community.

Word 123 123 123

This Block
With Content here
Facebook Twitter Blog