School Relations

SLCC GEAR UP

Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Program

SLCC's School Relations department also coordinates the GEAR UP program (Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs), a federally funded program designed to increase the number of low-income students in junior high and highGirl school prepared to enter and succeed in post-secondary education.

To be eligible for the GEAR UP program you must be a student who wants to prepare for a college education and qualifies for free or reduced lunch. See the GEAR UP representative at your school for an application and guidelines.

Click here and print out the application. Take the competed application to the GEAR UP advisor at your high school.

Participating Schools

Kearns High    Taylorsville High  

Our Staff

Jill Kemerer, Director SLCC GEAR UP, School Relations,  801 957-4143, jill.kemerer@slcc.edu

Joni Lindsay, SLCC GEAR UP Coordinator, 801 957-5168, joni.lindsay@slcc.edu

Jazmin Montero, SLCC First Year Advisor, 801 957-5124, jazmin.montero@slcc.edu

Wendolens Ruano, SLCC First Year Advisor, 801-957-5124, wendolens.ruano@slcc.edu

Felix Vivanco, SLCC First Year Advisor,  801-957-5124, felix.vivanco@slcc.edu

Cecilia Templeton, SLCC GEAR UP Advisor, 801 898-2672, cecilia.templeton@slcc.edu

Jordan Passey, Specialist, jordan.passey@slcc.edu

Yarhtib Vazquez Gutierrez, Specialist III

Andres Dominguez, Specialist