Find Your Advisor by Area of Study

Before Meeting with an Advisor

Students must be admitted to SLCC to schedule an appointment with an Academic Advisor.

Apply at SLCC. After applying, new students will be given instructions via email how to retrieve their student number and can schedule their own advising appointment through MySuccess in MySLCC or provide their Student ID number to our front desk specialists when they call. Appointments are available in-person or via phone or video call. Please select the type of meeting when making your appointment. All first-time, first-year students must complete an orientation prior to meeting with their academic advisor and/or registering for classes.

See a Program Advisor if you have declared a major or have a specific area of study. Advising sessions are available by appointment or, on a limited basis, via walk-in.

Steps to schedule an appointment with an advisor:

  1. Log in at your MySLCC page.
  2. Select the “ADVISING” tab.
  3. Select “Login to MySuccess” option.
  4. Check your My Success Network on your homepage to see who your Primary Advisors are for each service on campus OR if your desired staff member/campus service is not listed in your Success Network, you can type them into the search bar.
  5. Click on the staff member you would like to meet to view their Schedule Appointment Button.
  6. Select your date, time, and location (in-office, phone, or ZOOM video chat).

You will receive a confirmation email to your BruinMail.

Please note that Microsoft Teams does not show accurate appointment availability. Appointments made through Teams will be canceled and you will need to reschedule through MySuccess or by contacting Academic Advising at academicadvising@slcc.edu or 801-957-4978.

Note: We will assist students up to 30 minutes before closing.

Program Advisor & Contact Info
  • Animation
  • Game Design & Development
  • Illustration
  • Multimedia
  • Photography

Elizete Bond
Spanish & Portuguese Speaking
Lead Pathways Advisor

elizete.bond@slcc.edu
801-957-3227

  • Communication Studies
  • Film Production Technology
  • Journalism & Digital Media
  • Theater Arts
  • Video-Radio Production

Gordon Storrs

gordon.storrs@slcc.edu
801-957-3125

  • College Academic Readiness
  • Graphic Communication
  • Graphic Design
  • Graphic Technician
  • Web Programmer
  • Website Design

Veronica Medina

veronica.medina@slcc.edu
801-957-3199

  • Architecture
  • Architecture Technology
  • Fashion Design
  • Interior Design
  • Media Music
  • Merchandising
  • MIDI Music
  • Music
  • Music Recording Technology
  • Technical Apparel

Vorn Bullough

vorn.bullough@slcc.edu 
801-957-3114


Program Advisor & Contact Info
  • If your last name begins with A-G

Bermarie Barreto

bermarie.barreto@slcc.edu
801-957-5135

  • If your last name begins with H-M

LuAnn Furner

luann.furner@slcc.edu
801-957-5066

  • If your last name begins with N-T

Tien Pham

Tien.Pham@slcc.edu
801-957-3866

  • If your last name begins with U-Z

Michael Atkinson
Lead Pathways Advisor

michael.atkinson@slcc.edu
801-957-4835

  • SATTS Advising:
    • Baking Certificate
    • Bookkeeping Clerk
    • Commercial Baking
    • Food Certificate
    • Line Supervisor
    • Medical Coding & Billing
    • Coding Core

Kim Reiter

kim.reiter@slcc.edu
801-957-4081

  • Culinary Arts
  • Hospitality Management

John Wiemer

john.wiemer@slcc.edu
801-957-5323

Program Advisor & Contact Info
  • If your last name begins with A-F

Russ Collett

russell.collett@slcc.edu
801-957-4030

Zoom (Appointment Required)

  • If your last name begins with G-N

Sim Kaur

sim.kaur@slcc.edu
801-957-3718

Zoom (Appointment Required)

  • If your last name begins with O-T

Jewly Haris

jewly.harris@slcc.edu
801-957-3905

Zoom (Appointment Required)

  • If your last name begins with U-Z

Vacant

  • ALL School of Applied Technology CTE

Russ Collett

russell.collett@slcc.edu
801-957-4030

Zoom (Appointment Required)

Program Advisor & Contact Info
  • Brick Mason Apprentice
  • Construction
  • Cabinet Making
  • Furniture Construction
  • Construction Laborer
  • Construction Management/Sustainable Building
  • Non-Destructive Testing

Scott Wakefield
Spanish Speaking
Lead Pathways Advisor

scott.wakefield@slcc.edu
801-957-3703

  • Air Conditioning/Heating Refrigeration
  • Electrical Independent
  • Plumber Independent
  • HVAC
  • Plumber/Pipefitter – JATC
  • Stage Hand – JATC

Stacey Case

stacey.case@slcc.edu
801-957-4550

  • Advanced PLC's & Robotics Technician
  • Aerospace/Aviation Technology Maintenance
  • Aircraft Electronics
  • Automation and Instrumentation Technician
  • Certified Electronics Technician
  • Electromechanical Assembly Technician
  • Electronics Assembly Technician
  • Electronics Communication Technician
  • Electronics Engineering Technician
  • Welding Fabrication and Inspection
  • Welding Technology
  • Non-credit Welding students

Hector Cando

hector.cando@slcc.edu
801-957-3112

  • Automotive
  • Culinary Arts
  • Hospitality Management
  • Motorcycle/Outdoor Power Equipment Technology

John Wiemer

john.wiemer@slcc.edu
801-957-5323

  • Diesel Service Technician CP (Competency Based) (CTE)
  • Diesel Systems Technology AAS
  • Diesel Systems Technology CC
  • Manual Machinist CA
  • Manual Machinist CA (Competency Based)
  • Professional Truck Driving

Javier Gamarra
Spanish Speaking

javier.gamarra@slcc.edu
801-957-2171

Program Advisor & Contact Info
  • Community Health & Leadership
  • Mortuary Science
  • Occupational Therapist Assistant
  • Surgical Technology

Danielle Mills
Lead Pathways Advisor

danielle.mills@slcc.edu
801-957-6215

  • Clinical Lab Assistant
  • Clinical Medical Assistant CC (Competency-based) (CTE)
  • Certified Nursing Assistant
  • Medical Office Administration
  • Pharmacy Technician CC

Michelle Robertson

michelle.robertson@slcc.edu
801-957-6215

  • Dental Hygiene
  • Respiratory Therapy

Angela Harvey

angela.harvey@slcc.edu
801-957-6215

  • Nursing, if your last name begins with A-B

Vacant

Please contact our Front Desk at 801-957-6215 to schedule an appointment.

  • Nursing, if your last name begins with C-H

Nicolas Zarazua

nicolas.zarazua@slcc.edu
801-957-6215

  • Nursing, if your last name begins with I-P

Deron Hutchinson

deron.hutchinson@slcc.edu
801-957-6215

  • Nursing, if your last name begins with Q-Z

Rebecca Harrington

rebecca.harrington@slcc.edu
801-957-6215

  • Physical Therapist Assistant, if your last name begins with A-C
  • Radiologic Technology, if your last name begins with G-Z

Maria Murguia

maria.murguia@slcc.edu
801-957-6215

  • Physical Therapist Assistant, if your last name begins with D-Z
  • Radiologic Technology, if your last name begins with A-F

Tyler Barber

tyler.barber@slcc.edu
801-957-6215

Program Advisor & Contact Info
  • World Languages

Luz Gamarra
Spanish Speaking

luz.gamarra@slcc.edu
801-957-4864

  • English as a Second Language, if your last name begins with A-L
  • Humanities
  • International & Global Studies

Philip Anosike
Ibo Speaking

philip.anosike@slcc.edu
801-957-3336

  • Cultural Resource Management
  • English as a Second Language, if your last name begins with M-Z
  • Writing

Doug Hobbs
Spanish Speaking

doug.hobbs@slcc.edu
801-957-3207

  • English as a Second Language, for West Valley Center Students

Jocelyn Leyva

jocelyn.leyva@slcc.edu
801-957-2127

  • American Sign Language/English Interpreting AAS
  • Anthropology
  • English
  • History
  • Philosophy & Religious Studies
  • Political Science
  • Writing Certificate
  • Writing Studies

Alex Coulombe

alex.coulombe@slcc.edu
801-957-4238

Program Advisor & Contact Info
  • General Engineering, Engineering, Full and Traditional (APE), and Engineering Tech, if your last name begins with A-G

Jeanne Westgard

jeanne.westgard@slcc.edu
801-957-4858

  • General Engineering, Engineering, Full and Traditional (APE), and Engineering Tech, if your last name begins with H-P

Joel Shelton

joel.shelton@slcc.edu
801-957-4397

  • Biotechnology A-Z
  • General Engineering, Engineering, Full and Traditional (APE), and Engineering Tech, if your last name begins with Q-Z

Chris Bruun

chris.bruun@slcc.edu
801-957-3751

if your last name begins with A-H

  • Sciences
  • Geosciences
  • Exercise Science

Gloria Rivera

gloria.rivera@slcc.edu
801-957-4273

if your last name begins with I-S

  • Sciences
  • Geosciences
  • Exercise Science

Okony Cham

okony.cham@slcc.edu
801-957-4146

  • Mathematics A-Z

if your last name begins with T-Z

  • Sciences
  • Geosciences
  • Exercise Science

Verl Long
Lead Pathways Advisor

verl.long@slcc.edu
801-957-3209

Program Advisor & Contact Info
  • Criminal Justice, if your last name begins with P-Z
  • Education, if your last name begins with A-K
  • Emergency Medical Technician
  • Homeland Security Emergency Management
  • Law Enforcement Academy
  • TRS/TEI Scholarship Recipients, if your last name begins with A-K

Elizabeth Valle

elizabeth.valle@slcc.edu
801-957-5173

  • Economics
  • Family and Human Studies AS/AAS/CC
  • Psychology, if your last name begins with A-G

Natasha Brenchley

natasha.brenchley@slcc.edu
801-957-4294

  • Paralegal AAS
  • Social Work, if your last name begins with I-Z
  • Sociology

Juanita Bushman

juanita.bushman@slcc.edu
801-957-4441

  • Criminal Justice, if your last name begins with A-G
  • Psychology, if your last name begins with H-O

Vacant, please contact 801-957-4978

  • Social Work, if your last name begins with A-H

Vacant, please contact 801-957-4978

  • Criminal Justice, if your last name begins with H-O
  • Education, if your last name begins with L-Z
  • TRS/TEI Scholarship Recipients, if your last name begins with L-Z

Carlos Morales

carlos.morales@slcc.edu
801-957-5046

  • Psychology, if your last name begins with P-Z

Nicole M. Jones

njone141@slcc.edu
801-957-4452