Welcome to the Department of Public Safety

The SLCC Public Safety Department is a public service, community oriented police agency with licensed peace officers empowered by the laws of the State of Utah. It is our desire to be an integral part of the SLCC community. Our partnership with you is an essential element in making our campuses safe. By working in tandem with you, we maximize our ability to maintain a safe and secure environment. We ask that you assist us by being aware of your surroundings and always reporting anything you believe is “suspicious”. If you are ever in doubt, call us! The sooner we are notified the sooner we can respond.

In July 2003 SLCC elected to contract with the Utah State Department of Public Safety (DPS) law enforcement services on the Taylorsville Redwood, South City, Meadowbrook, and Jordan Campuses. Police services to the other campuses and centers are provided by the police department of the cities in which they are located.

SLCC’s Department of Public Safety has 4 divisions: Police Services, Emergency Management, Parking Services, and Campus Safety.

We are here to serve you!


Taylorsville Redwood Campus
Gundersen Facilities Services Bldg.
4365 S 2200 W
Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0808