Sociology

Faculty

Dwight Adams

      Rank/Title: Instructor
      Campus: South City
      Office: N324A
      Phone: 801-957-3456
      Email: dwight.adams@slcc.edu
      Education:
         
BA Weber State
          MA University of Utah

Dwight Adams was born on a Wyoming Air Force Base.  He started going to college to Utah State University on a journalism scholarship.  He completed his Bachelors degree from Weber State in Sociology and Gerontology.  He completed his Masters at the University of Utah in Sociology.  He has worked on two PhD programs.  One from University of Utah in Sociology, and the other from Cappella University in Human Services.  Has done original research on adult caregiving in Utah and southern Idaho.  He has taught at University of Utah in Gerontology, Weber State in Social Work/Gerontology, and Columbia College in Social Statistics and Social Research as an adjunct.  He is also the vice-chair of the Aging Board of Davis County, Utah.  He has a long volunteer history in aging matters. 
 

Spencer Blake

      Rank/Title: Associate Professor
      Campus: Taylorsville Redwood
      Office: Construction Trades Building Room 094B
      Phone: 801-957-4793
      Email: spencer.blake@slcc.edu
      Education:
            BS Brigham Young University 1993
            MA Regis University 1997

Spencer Blake has been teaching at SLCC since 1999.  He teaches SOC 1010, SOC 1020, SOC 2400, and SOC 2600.


Anne Graham

       Rank/Title: Professor
       Campus: Taylorsville Redwood
       Office: Construction Trades Building Room 094G
       Phone: 801-957-5084
       Email: anne.graham@slcc.edu
       Education:
              BS Washington University-St. Louis
              MS Stanford
              PhD Stanford

Anne Graham has taught at SLCC since 1993.  She enjoys teaching the small interactive classes we have here. Earlier she taught at the University of Texas and at several colleges and universities in Southern California. Anne regularly teaches Soc 1010: Introduction to Sociology (SS), Soc 2370:  Gender in the United States (SS,DV), and Soc 2630:  Racial and Ethnic Relations (SS, DV).  She has also taught courses at SLCC on marriage and family, social problems, and social psychology. Most of Anne's research has centered on gender and/or education.  Her most recent research is a qualitative study of women returning to school here at SLCC after a break in their education.  She presented her results as the Distinguished Faculty Lecturer in 2011.    


Deidre Tyler

        Rank/Title: Professor
        Campus: Taylorsville Redwood
        Office: Construction Trades Building Room 094D
        Phone: 801-957-4920
        Email: deidre.tyler@slcc.edu
        Education:
               AA Hinds Junior College 1979
               BS Mississippi College 1981
               MA University of Mississippi 1983
               MEd Utah State University 1999
               PhD Mississippi State University 1993

Deidre Tyler, Ph.D. has taught for SLCC since 1992.  She has a publication-"Our Corner of the World: Utah African American Women Tell Their Stories 1940-2002."

Kartherine Demong

       Rank/Title: Adjunct
       Email: kdemong@bruinmail.slcc.edu

Kristina Gale

       Rank/Title: Adjunct
       Email: kgale10@bruinmail.slcc.edu

Michael Cupello

       Rank/Title: Adjunct
       Email: Mcupello@slcc.edu

Axana King

       Rank/Title: Adjunct
       Email: aking51@bruinmail.slcc.edu

Daniel Poole

       Rank/Title: Adjunct
       Email:dpoole10@bruinmail.slcc.edu

Thomas Partridge

         Rank/Title: Adjunct
         Email: tpartrid@bruinmail.slcc.edu

John Powell

         Rank/Title: Adjunct
         Email: socprof@hotmail.com

Karen Shores

        Rank/Title: Adjunct
        Email: kshores@bruinmail.slcc.edu

Joseph Diaz

       Rank/Title: Adjunct
       Email: joseph.diaz@slcc.edu