Faculty

Brandon Alva

Brandon Alva

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

MFA Creative Writing, University of Arizona, 2009

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

154

Phone:

801-957-4815

Email:

Brandon.Alva@slcc.edu

Jim Beatty

Jim Beatty

Lecturer

Credentials:

Doctoral coursework (ABD), Indiana University Bloomington

MA English, University of Illinois Champaign/Urbana

BAs English & Philosophy, University of Northern Colorado Greeley

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

152

Phone:

801-957-3958

Email:

Jim.Beatty@slcc.edu

Lisa Bickmore

Lisa Bickmore

Professor

Credentials:

MA, Brigham Young University, 1984

BA, Brigham Young University, 1979

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

165F

Phone:

801-957-4686

Email:

Lisa.Bickmore@slcc.edu

Chris Blankenship

Chris Blankenship

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

PhD English (Rhetoric and Composition), Northern Illinois University, 2012

MA English, Tennessee Technological University, 2005

BA English, Tennessee Technological University, 2003

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Lifetime Activities Center

Room:

117D

Phone:

801-957-4310

Email:

christopher.blankenship@slcc.edu

Christie Bogle

Christie Bogle

Lecturer

Credentials:

MA Adult Second Language Acquisition and TESOL, University of Utah, 2002

BA Theoretical Linguistics, University of Utah, 2000

Portfolio

Campus:

South City

Room:

1-183Q

Phone:

801-957-3246

Email:

christie.bogle@slcc.edu

Anne Canavan

Anne Canavan

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

PhD English, Northern Illinois University, 2012

MA English, Tennessee Technological University, 2005

BA English, Tennessee Technological University, 2003

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Lifetime Activities Center

Room:

113C

Phone:

801-957-3793

Email:

Anne.Canavan@slcc.edu

James Celestino

James Celestino

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MFA, University of Antioch, LA

BA English, University of Utah

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

237J

Phone:

801-957-4596

Email:

James.Celestino@slcc.edu

Ron Christiansen

Ron Christiansen

Associate Professor

Credentials:

M. Ed.(Literacy and Writing Studies), University of Utah, 1998

BA English Teaching, Brigham Young University, 1994

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

165K

Phone:

801-957-4321

Email:

Ron.Christiansen@slcc.edu

Nathan Cole

Nathan Cole

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

MA English, Brigham Young University, 1994

BA English, San Diego State University, 1992

Portfolio

Campus:

Jordan

Building:

High Tech Center

Room:

115E

Phone:

801-957-6279

Email:

Nathan.Cole@slcc.ed

Jennifer Courtney

Jennifer Courtney

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA English (Emphasis: American Literature), San Diego State, 1998

BA English (Major: English and American Literature, Minor: Art History), University of California at Riverside, 1994

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

165G

Phone:

801-957-4201

Email:

Jennifer.Courtney@slcc.edu

Allison Fernley

Allison Fernley

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA English, University of Utah, 1984

BA English and French, University of Utah, 1982

Honors BA, University of Utah, 1982

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

158

Phone:

801-957-4376

Email:

allison.fernley@slcc.edu

Ana Fillingim

Ana Fillingim

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

MA Linguistics with emphasis on Second Language Acquisition, University of Utah

BA Liberal Arts, University of Montana 

Portfolio

Campus:

South City

Building:

Main Building

Room:

3-183C

Phone:

801-957-3044

Email:

Ana.Fillingam@slcc.edu

Ann Fillmore

Ann Fillmore

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

M.Ed. TESL, Concordia University, Portland OR, 2007

B.A. Spanish, University of Oregon, 2003

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Technology Building

Room:

131

Phone:

801-957-5017

Email:

Ann.Fillmore@slcc.edu

Maria Griffith

Maria Griffith

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA Education, Diverse Learners

BA Liberal Studies

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Technology Building

Room:

561D

Phone:

801-957-5153

Email:

Maria.Griffith@slcc.edu

Jerri A. Harwell

Jerri A. Harwell

Associate Professor

Credentials:

M.Ed. Learning and Technology, Western Governors University

BA English, Oakland University

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Lifetime Activities Center

Room:

115D

Phone:

801-957-4169

Email:

Jerri.Harwell@slcc.edu

Melissa Helquist

Melissa Helquist

Associate Professor & Director of the Community Writing Center

Credentials:

PhD Rhetoric and Technical Communication, Texas Tech University, 2015

MA English, Colorado State University, 2000

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

160

Phone:

801-957-4713

Email:

Melissa.Helquist@slcc.edu

Gary Howard

Gary Howard

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA University of Pittsburgh

BA University of Pittsburgh

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Email:

Gary.Howard@slcc.edu

Charlotte Howe

Charlotte Howe

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

MA Professional Communication, Westminster College

BA English, University of Utah

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

164

Phone:

801-957-5117

Email:

Charlotte.Howe@Slcc.edu

Kathleen Johnston

Kathleen Johnston

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA Applied Linguistics, University of Southern California

BA Psychology, University of California at Santa Cruz

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Email:

kathleen.johnston@slcc.edu

Justin Jory

Justin Jory

Assistant Professor & Department Coordinator

Credentials:

MA English (Rhetoric and Composition), Colorado State University, 2008

BA English (Rhetoric), Texas A&M University, 2005

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

156

Phone:

801-957-4192

Email:

Justin.Jory@slcc.edu

Lynn Kilpatrick

Lynn Kilpatrick

Associate Professor

Credentials:

Phd Creative Writing (Fiction), University of Utah, 2004

MA English (Poetry), Western Washington University, 1998

BA University of Oregon, 1991

Portfolio

Campus:

South City

Building:

Main Building

Room:

3-183N

Phone:

801-957-3074

Email:

Lynn.Kilpatrick@slcc.edu

Kati Lewis

Kati Lewis

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

MS Literature and Writing (Postcolonial Literature & Creative Writing), Utah State University , 2008

BA English and History, Weber State University, 2003

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

174

Phone:

801-957-4735

Email:

kati.lewis@slcc.edu

Cristin Longhurst

Cristin Longhurst

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA American Literature, BYU

BA English Literature, UCLA

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Technology Building

Room:

516C

Phone:

801-957-3823

Email:

Cris.Longhurst@slcc.edu

Stephanie Maenhardt

Stephanie Maenhardt

Professor

Credentials:

PhD, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 1999

MA, Brigham Young University, 1995

BA English, Brigham Young University, 1993

Portfolio

Andrea Malouf

Andrea Malouf

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA Literature, University of Utah

BA English/Creative Writing, University of Utah

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

237K

Phone:

801-957-5015

Email:

andrea.malouf@slcc.edu

Jamie McBeth-Smith

Jamie McBeth-Smith

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA English, University of Utah, 1980

BA English, University of Utah, Honors

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

166

Phone:

801-957-4989

Email:

Jamie.McBeth-Smith@slcc.edu

Lisa Packer

Lisa Packer

Lecturer

Credentials:

MA Applied Linguistics, University of Utah

BA English (Reading), University of Utah

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

176

Phone:

801-957-3922

Email:

Lisa.Packer@slcc.edu

Jason Roberts

Jason Roberts

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

MA Teacher Education, Brigham Young University

BA, Brigham Young University

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

165H

Phone:

801-957-4318

Email:

jason.roberts@slcc.edu

Tiffany Rousculp

Tiffany Rousculp

Professor

Credentials:

MA Rhetoric/Linguistics/Literature, University of Southern California, 1993

BA English, Arizona State University, 1990

Portfolio

Campus:

South City

Building:

Main Building

Room:

3-186K

Phone:

801-957-3232

Email:

Tiffany.Rousculp@Slcc.edu

Carol Sieverts

Carol Sieverts

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA, Utah State University

BA, Brigham Young University

Portfolio

Campus:

Jordan

Building:

High Tech Center

Room:

115C

Phone:

801-957-2805

Email:

Carol.Sieverts@slcc.edu

Benjamin Solomon

Benjamin Solomon

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

MFA Creative Writing/Fiction, Georgia State University, 2012

BA English/Creative Writing, Emory University, 2001

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

237X

Phone:

801-957-3930

Email:

Benjamin.Solomon@slcc.edu

Marlena Stanford

Marlena Stanford

Assistant Professor

Credentials:

MA English, Colorado State University, 2009

BA English, Western State College, 2006

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

237N

Phone:

801-957-3928

Email:

Marlena.Stanford@slcc.edu

Brittany Stephenson

Brittany Stephenson

Associate Professor

Credentials:

MA, Utah State University, 1999

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Email:

Brittany.Stephenson@slcc.edu

Elisa Stone

Elisa Stone

Professor

Credentials:

MA, University of Utah, 1993

BA, Utah State University, 1990

Portfolio

Campus:

Taylorsville

Building:

Academic and Administrative Building

Room:

170

Phone:

801-957-4836

Email:

Elisa.Stone@slcc.edu