Skip to main content

School of Applied Technology and Technical Specialties

Emergency Medical Technician

The Program satisfies the training requirements for those who are interested in becoming an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) or Advanced EMT (AEMT). The training is designed to prepare the student for the real world of medical care by giving the knowledge, skills, hands-on experience, and the technical background to provide such care. The training is also applicable to nursing, physical therapy, law enforcement and private security personnel. To be licensed by the State of Utah, you must be 18 years of age and have no major felony convictions, complete all course and testing requirements. You must attend all scheduled classes.


FAQs

New students should apply for Admission you are not required to take the placement test. However, it is an option to help you continue your educational goals.

There is a requirement to be BLS CPR certified. You can take a course in advance or there will be a course taught the second week after the course starts on a Friday night for $45.

You must be 18 at the end of the course to be able to take the certification tests.

At the end of the course you will be provided with a practical test and then you can take the NREMT written test. Upon passing both tests the State of Utah will license you as an EMT.

Most state recognize the NREMT certification that Utah uses to license you. Each state has its own rules and its best to check with the specific state that you would like to move to.

CONTACT US

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement

Please be advised that law enforcement officers who move to other states have to seek certification through that state’s Peace Officer Standards and Training division, or similar agencies in other states. Law enforcement certification is the exclusive right and responsibility of each state. Before moving out of state, we encourage students to research state law enforcement certification requirements. Here is one research tool: License Finder sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor.

If you have difficulty finding the law enforcement certification requirements for other states, please contact your academic advisor or SLCC’s State Authorization Coordinator for help.

Emergency Medical Technician

  • HSEM 2300 Emergency Medical Technician
  • 10 elective credits towards a Criminal Justice AS or AAS degree
  • Pre-Requisite: 18 years of age and no felony convictions
  • Approximately 13 weeks in length
  • Financial Aid is available for those who qualify
  • Tuition is $1480.00, plus books approximately $250.00 and State Licensure fee for resident or non-resident are the same $102.00.
  • There is an $80.00 test fee paid to the NREMT (National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians) at the end of the course for the written certification test.
  • The course of instruction includes treatment of medical emergencies, including trauma injuries, shock treatment, bleeding, illness, bandaging, splinting, and taking of vital signs. The NREMT psychomotor test is included as part of the course. It will be conducted at the end of the course.

Advanced Emergency Medical Technician

  • HSEM 2350 Advanced Emergency Medical Technician
  • 6 elective credits towards a Criminal Justice AS or AAS degree
  • Pre-Requisite: Current Utah EMT License
  • Approximately 12 weeks in length
  • Financial Aid is available for those who qualify
  • Tuition is $900.00, plus books approximately $150.00 and State Licensure fee for resident or non-resident are the same $50.00.
  • There is a $115.00 test fee paid to the NREMT (National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians) at the end of the course for the written certification test.
  • The course of instruction includes advance treatment skills including the use of advanced airways, advance level medications, and IV’s. The NREMT psychomotor test is $100.00 that is taken at the end of the course.

Continuing Medical Education

You can register at the Larry H. Miller Campus located at 9750 South 300 West, Miller Professional Development Center room 110 or by calling 801-957-5200.

Continuing Medical Education (CME)

The CME classes will be taught from 6 PM to 10 PM as per the class schedules. Four classes will be specifically practical skill training dates. The cost is $25 per class. Class size is basically unlimited. This is to accommodate the latest changes proposed by the Utah Department of Health, Bureau of Emergency Services.

Basic Life Support Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)

Basic life Support CPR certification classes are available in conjunction with the EMT course. This class will certify you in one-man CPR, two-man CPR, pediatric CPR, and AED. The cost is $45 per student. We limit the class size to 36 students. Classes are taught 6 PM to 10 PM on Friday nights as per the class schedules.

Pediatric Education for Prehospital Professionals (PEPP)

The Hybrid PEPP classes will be held quarterly. These classes are for skills evaluation and testing. The cost of these classes will be $30 per student. Class size will be approximately 32 students. Classes will be Saturdays from 8 AM to 2 PM as per the class schedules.

You must enroll first and then register with Salt Lake Community College.

Class Schedules

Fall 2019

EMT (Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday 6-10 p.m.)
August 26 - December 4, 2019
State Test: December 9 - 11, 2019

EMT (Thursday 6-10 p.m. and Saturday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.)
August 22 - November 21, 2019
State Test: November 23, 2019

Spring 2020

EMT (Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday 6-10 p.m.)
January 13 - April 15, 2020
State Test: April 20 – 22, 2020

EMT (Thursday 6-10 p.m. and Saturday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.)
January 16 - April 13, 2020
State Test: April 25, 2020

Summer 2020

EMT (Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday 6-10 p.m.)
May 18 - August 19, 2020
State Test: August 24 – 26, 2020

AEMT (Thursday 6-10 p.m. and Saturday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.)
May 2 - August 8, 2020
State Test: August 15, 2020

Fall 2020

EMT (Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday 6-10 p.m.)
August 31 - December 9, 2020
State Test: December 14 - 16, 2020

EMT (Thursday 6-10 p.m. and Saturday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.)
August 27 - December 5, 2020
State Test: December 12, 2020

Continuing Medical Education (CME)

  • October 4, 2019

Basic Life Support Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)

  • August 30, 2019
  • September 6, 2019
  • January 24, 2020
  • January 31, 2020
  • May 29, 2020
  • September 11, 2020
  • September 18, 2020

Pediatric Education for Prehospital Professionals (PEPP)

  • October 5, 2019

Tuition and Fees

For information about the tuition and fees for this program, please call 801-957-5330.

Financial Aid