Skip to main content

Salt Lake Community College opened its doors near downtown Salt Lake City to 246 students on September 14, 1948. Then known as Salt Lake Area Vocational School, it had 16 courses of study and 23 faculty members.

In 1959 the school was renamed Salt Lake Trade Technical Institute, and plans were made for a new campus at 4600 S. Redwood Road. As the campus grew over the next decade, the school became known as Utah Technical College at Salt Lake. By 1987, the school was renamed Salt Lake Community College, recognizing its transformation into a two-year institution that prepares students to move on to a four-year college or trains them to enter the workforce.

SLCC now has 10 locations and offers more than 160 programs in 8 areas of study. The College is also Utah's number one provider of workforce development and applied technology programs.

SLCC celebrates 75 years of being your community college. To learn more about the school's history, check out this comprehensive timeline.

Time Capsule Opening and Anniversary Tribute Livestream


February 26-December 21, 2023

Then & Now Exhibit

Take a moment to see how SLCC has impacted the lives of former students at our traveling photography exhibit. Check it out at the following times and locations:

Taylorsville Redwood Campus
August 21 – Dec 21

For more stories and photos from our alumni, check out our Then & Now webpage.

Thursday, September 14, 2023

Time Capsule Opening and Anniversary Tribute

On the college's birthday, SLCC will open a time capsule located on the Taylorsville Redwood Campus. Everyone is invited!

Taylorsville Redwood Campus
Outside, north of Construction Trades Building

10:00 - 10:45 a.m.

Anniversary Tribute

11:00 - 11:45 a.m.

Taylorsville Redwood 75th Anniversary Cupcake Social

SLCC 75th Anniversary Campus Watch Parties & Cupcake Pop-ups

10:00 - 11:15 a.m.

Herriman Campus Juniper 121
Miller Campus Culinary Arts Center Plaza
Westpointe Campus Workforce Training and Education Center 102
West Valley Center West Valley Learning Center 100A

10:00 - 11:45 a.m.

South City Campus The Forum 1-119
Jordan Campus Jordan Student Center 100A

College Presidents

Meet President Deneece G. Huftalin

See Past Presidents


Dr. Deneece G. Huftalin became the eighth president of Salt Lake Community College in January 2015 and feels privileged to have served students, faculty and staff over the course of her three-decades at SLCC.

In her tenure as president, Dr. Huftalin launched a planning cycle that produced a new vision, mission, values and strategic goals for the College. She also leads efforts to strengthen completion rates, transfer pathways, workforce responsiveness and equity programs by encouraging faculty and staff to embrace cutting-edge pedagogies and student services.

Prior to her current role, Dr. Huftalin served as SLCC's Interim President, Vice President of Student Services, Dean of Students and Director of Academic and Career Advising. Before joining SLCC in 1992, she held positions at William Rainey Harper College, Northwestern University, the University of Utah, Stanford University and the Institute for Shipboard Education.

For information on past College presidents, check out our SLCC Presidents page.



Salt Lake Area Vocational School opens its doors at 431 South 600 East. School Motto: "Learn to Earn – Learn to Live."


School holds first Apprenticeship Completion Ceremony.


School is renamed the Salt Lake Trade Technical Institute.


Construction begins on the Redwood Campus.


School's name is changed to Utah Technical College at Salt Lake.


The school is granted full accreditation by the Northwest Association of Colleges and Universities.


Two-year associate degree in nursing is offered.


First phase of the College Center (today's Student Center) is completed.


Sandy Campus opens at 700 East 9400 South.


Governor Norm Bangerter signs bill to create Salt Lake Community College.


The Grand Theatre at the South City Campus debuts.


South City Campus opens at Salt Lake City's old South City High School.


College holds its first Convocation Ceremony.

  • College celebrates its 50 th anniversary.
  • College breaks ground on the Larry H. Miller Entrepreneurship Training Center.
  • College breaks ground on the Jordan Campus at 9000 South Bangerter Highway.

Redwood Campus is renamed the Taylorsville Redwood Campus.


Center for Arts, Communication and Media opens at South City Campus.


College debuts the SLCC Promise program, offering tuition assistance to qualifying students.


Westpointe Workforce Training & Education Center opens.


Classes shift from in-person to online due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • Tim & Brenda Huval Student Center opens on the Jordan Campus.
  • College breaks ground on the Herriman Campus.
  • College achieves emerging Hispanic Serving Institution status.
  • College receives record-breaking donation from the Larry H. & Gail Miller Family Foundation and renames the Business School to the Gail Miller School of Business.

College celebrates 75 years of supporting Utah's economy and helping students from all backgrounds achieve their dreams.

A College for Everyone

75thAnniversary Magazine