Skip to main content


Gregory F. Peterson, Ed.D. Selected as 9th President of SLCC

After an extensive nationwide search, the Utah Board of Higher Education and Salt Lake Community College (SLCC) Board of Trustees are pleased to announce that Gregory F. Peterson, Ed.D. has been selected as the 9th president of Salt Lake Community College. Dr. Peterson will replace Dr. Deneece G. Huftalin, who after more than 10 years as SLCC president, announced her retirement in fall 2023.


Gregory F. Peterson, Ed.D.

Dr. Greg Peterson was appointed to serve as the president at Chandler-Gilbert Community College on July 1, 2018. Throughout his career, he has led key efforts in student learning and success impacting over 100,000 students, including developing transfer partnerships and college promise programs at multiple institutions and launching the first community college Artificial Intelligence program in the nation. Dr. Peterson works closely with industry partners and community leaders in strengthening workforce pipelines for students into family-sustaining careers and has served on local, state and national organizations to advance these efforts. He brings experience in student affairs and instructional programs and has worked at urban, suburban, and rural community colleges. Dr. Peterson was selected as an Aspen New President Fellow and was recently recognized as the East Valley Man of the Year by Positive Paths. He holds a doctorate in educational administration with an emphasis in community college leadership from the University of Texas at Austin; a master's degree in postsecondary, adult and continuing education from Portland State University; and a bachelor's degree in English from Brigham Young University. As a first-generation community college student, Dr. Greg Peterson has a passion and commitment to the community college mission of access and success for all students.

Brady Southwick, chair of SLCC’s Board of Trustees, will co-lead the presidential search committee with Sharon Eubank from the Utah Board of Higher Education.

SLCC Board of Trustees
  • Brady Southwick, Chair
  • Lori Chillingworth, Vice Chair
Utah Board of Higher Education
  • Sharon Eubank
  • Tina Marriott Larson
SLCC Faculty, Staff, and Administration
  • Dr. Jason Pickavance, SLCC Interim Provost of Academic Affairs
  • Robert Pettitt, Dean, School of Health Sciences
  • Gabe Byars, Faculty Senate Vice President
  • Brandi Mair, Staff President
  • Joyce Wambuyi, Student Body President
  • Shawn Newell, Alumni Representative & Emeritus Trustee
Community Representative
  • Ross Romero, CEO of Inclusion Strategies, Former Utah State Senator