2020 Utah Original Writing Competition

The Utah Division of Arts and Museums and the SLCC Community Writing Center invite you to submit your original writing to the Utah Original Writing Competition. Since 1958, the Utah Original Writing Competition has celebrated Utah’s dynamic and varied voices. The competition’s mission is to aid Utah writers on their path to publication and broader recognition. Previous awardees selected by our nationally recognized judges have gone on to significant statewide and national acclaim.

The competition is free to enter and is open to all Utah residents age 18 and over. Manuscripts are reviewed in an anonymous process by judges selected from outside of Utah. Submissions must be original works and (with some exceptions—see details for each category) cannot be published or accepted for publication at the time of entry. Please see our guidelines on further information on how to submit.

Submit Now!

All submissions must be made via Submittable.

All submissions due by June 30, 2020 @11:59 p.m..

Late manuscripts will not be accepted.

Winners will be notified at the end of September 2020. Please direct questions to the Community Writing Center at cwc@slcc.edu or 801-957-2192.